My BIG Fat Greek Turkey Burger!

I guess it’s finally time for me to say, Happy  New Year! (I know, I’m a little behind, right?) Coming back to school this past week after two weeks of doing absolutely nothing was quite a reality check. I think I’m finally ready to get back into the swing of things, it just so happens that it took a whole week of med school whiplash for me to get there. Either way, I’m glad to be back into my routine, because the holiday routine I had adopted was starting to get a little ridiculous. Has anyone else been struggling to get back to normal after the holidays?
In my last post I mentioned a few tips for trying to keep whatever New Year’s Resolutions you may have made. Hopefully if you’ve decided to make a change, you’re ready for it and are taking it step by step. If you’re interested (my feelings won’t be hurt if you’re not) I thought I’d share a couple of the things I’m trying to add into my routine. Obviously I’m planning to stick to my healthy eating plan and exercise routine. This past week I packed all of my lunches Sunday night, which made the rest of the week so much easier, I didn’t have to worry about it the night before and I could just toss it in my lunch box on my way out the door. As for exercising I’d like to try a mix between running and Pure Barre. My mom and I equipped Caroline with a Pure Barre DVD and all the other necessary equipment for Christmas, so she and I are going to try to do that a few times a week. I was only able to do it once last week, but I really liked it; the home video is only 45 minutes and I could do it all in my living room. Plus, it was still a good workout, I think I’m still a little sore. As for the running, it’s been so cold (and I’ve been so lazy) that I haven’t run in a while. Thanks to the unseasonably warm weather we’ve been experiencing, I was able to go for a run yesterday. Man, was that a rude awakening!?! I’m so glad that I went though. Even though it was a struggle to get going and I’m feeling the pain today, I just feel better physically, and mentally. It reminded me that the longer you put something off, the harder it is to get back to it, which is why you should avoid stopping in the first place. I’m going to try to keep that in mind for the rest of the winter, and as much as I hate it, I’m going to try to run on the treadmill some.
I’m trying to add a few other things as well. At some point last year I had gotten into a good routine of flossing my teeth, but one night, I just didn’t do it, which led to me pretty much completely stopping. So, I’m trying to get back in the swing of that; I’ve been doing pretty well so far, I think I’ve only “forgotten” once. Another thing I’m trying out is a stricter budget. I’m pretty good about sticking to my budget, but I’d like to be better at it and cut down on unnecessary purchases. I get a lot of sale emails from all my favorite stores, which can be difficult to resist. I’m going to try it out, but I think during lent, I’m going to really buckle down and possibly quit eating out. I’m challenging my family to try it too (we’ll see how that goes for all of us). Alright, moving on. I made one of the best recipes I’ve had in a long time tonight and I couldn’t resist sharing it with you, so here it is…

photo-1Greek Flavored Turkey Burgers
I promise this one looks more appetizing in person, my picture doesn’t do it justice! This recipe doesn’t have much too it, but the fresh mint, feta cheese, onion and dill really made it delicious. It’s definitely one of my new favorites. There’s a reason I named this post “My BIG Fat Greek Turkey Burger,” I cut the recipe in half and somehow still ended up with two huge turkey burgers. I don’t think I’ve quite mastered the art of dividing meat for an appropriately sized burger. Maybe I’ll figure that one out next time I make these; I think adding all the extra ingredients takes up extra space that I don’t account for before I add the meat. However, the ratio of meat to fixins’ was perfect, so next time I may use the same amounts but make more burgers. I don’t usually put my burgers on buns and didn’t with this one either. In fact, once I realized how big it was going to turn out, I just had the burger by itself, with the roasted red pepper on top and an apple for desert. I don’t think I really have much else to say about this one, I followed the directions exactly and loved every bite. Click here if you want to give it a try.

 

One last quick tip! I recently saw an idea on Pintrest for how to keep your lettuce fresher longer. I have problems with lettuce going bad all the time. It’s can be really difficult at times because that’s what I pack for lunch everyday. This past week, I packed five separate salads Sunday night and put a paper towel in with the lettuce I had leftover. The paper towel absorbs the extra moisture in the container and I think it worked. I still have lettuce that I bought a week ago and it’s perfectly fine. I think putting it in more containers is good too, I don’t really have a good reason, I just think it helps.

Leave a Reply

