9 Ladies Dancing

Healthy Holiday Tip #4– Drink Healthy
The holiday season is full of yummy food that you only make or can only buy once a year. It’s full of special drinks too… hot chocolate, eggnog, apple cider, holiday lattes at your favorite coffee shop, and I’m sure people manage to come up with some fancy holiday cocktails as well. No matter what your favorite holiday drink is, I thought I’d see if I could come up with some useful tips to help you be a little healthier about them. Most people don’t realize how much drinks can contribute the amount of sugar and calories we take it. I quit drinking soft drinks when I was in high school and stuck to juice and water; now, I really only drink water, sparkling water, coffee, and wine. Many people even have success in losing weight after they stop drinking soft drinks. I don’t really remember if I lost weight, but I know I never crave soft drinks and if I do happen to have one randomly, I don’t like how it makes me feel.

Anyway, more about my holiday tips… Drink more water! Everyone knows water is good for you, you have to have it, there’s no way around it. The more water you drink, the better hydrated you are and the less you want to eat when you’re bored. Putting some water in your stomach is a great way to stave off hunger when you’re just sitting at work (or studying) and looking for a reason to take a little break. Sugar free options are a great way to cut out some of those unnecessary calories and decrease your risk for diabetes in the future. Hot chocolate and apple cider mixes have sugar free options, as do many coffee shops. Next time you’re in the market for a sweet drink, just give sugar free a try; it hardly makes a difference with most things. As for the eggnog, get the low fat or no fat options. Fancy holiday cocktails might be a little more difficult to work with. They definitely make sugar free mixers that you can use and several companies have come out with “skinny” lines of drinks that are pre-made. I’d say try to stick with wine though, I don’t know if it truly has a better health profile, but that seems to be the buzz. Good luck!!

IMG_0621My First Frittata
I’ve always wanted to try and make a frittata, just because the name sounded cool. I never knew what they were before I signed up to receive recipe emails. From what I understand, it’s an egg based dish, kind of like a quiche and kind of like an open face omelet. I’ve seen several different spins on them. This one consisted of linguine noodles, mushrooms, eggs, a few seasonings, milk and cheese. I think it may have also called for leeks, but somehow that got left off my grocery list. It was pretty simple to make, not the fastest dish I’ve made, but not difficult (I thought it would be). I think I cut the recipe in half, but followed the directions exactly from there. It was really good! I added a little too much cheese to the top, so it was kind of heavy, I don’t think I ate it with a salad or anything, because it was enough on its own. It may have called for some fresh herbs, but since they aren’t very fresh right now, I just used dried. Remember, when you use dried herbs, they tend to have stronger flavor, so you don’t need as much as the recipe calls for. Click here for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

