11 Pipers Piping

Healthy Holiday Tip #2– Share plates with your date
The holiday season is usually jam packed with fun christmas and new years parties to attend (maybe some bowl football parties too). I don’t have very many to attend, but most of you are probably more popular than I am, so you might have several soirées on your calendar. The staples of a good holiday party are good food and good drinks (at least in my opinion). I thought it might be helpful to come up with a couple tips on how to leave the party feeling satisfied instead of miserably full. Most holiday parties have heavy (and delicious) hors d’oeuvres that you could stand around and snack on until you pass out. Instead of standing and snacking periodically, fix a plate for yourself and have your date fix a plate, then share. If you don’t have a date, always take a wingman/woman and help each other out. By sharing a plate, you can try more of the delicious options and feel like you’ve eaten more. If you and your “date” get different things on your plate, you’ll be less likely to go back for  seconds to try something you might have missed on your first trip. If you don’t have a date to go with you, like the party I’m attending solo tonight, just try your best not to get seconds and fill your plate up with the healthier options (if they exist). Healthier options that you might find at a party are vegetables, fruit, or fish. Try not go go back for things like cheese, fried treats, and heavy dips. Now, how about those desserts? They are my weakness, especially when there are lots to choose from. I’d say to try and handle them the same way. Pick two desserts and split them between you and your date, that way you’re basically getting a 2 for 1 deal. Hope you give it a try!

IMG_0620Grilled Chicken and Vegetable Arugula Salad
Here I go with another salad… I just can’t get enough of them. Most of you can probably agree that salad dressings are what makes a salad good (fresh veggie toppings do too). Many people won’t even go near lettuce unless its drenched in ranch, but that’s not exactly your healthiest option. I use a light italian dressing on my everyday lunch salads and I try to stick to the serving size so I don’t overload on unnecessary calories.  When I make a dinner salad, I use a homemade greek or balsamic. This recipe called for balsamic, which I don’t usually make as much so I was glad to find one that called for it. I don’t add any extras when I make balsamic, just olive oil and balsamic vinegar in about a 1.5 to 1 ratio (usually 2 tbsp olive oil and 1.5 of balsamic for and individual salad). This salad was pretty simple, it called for several of my favorite salad toppings–feta, tomatoes and red onion. I didn’t grill the chicken since I was only making one piece, but I don’t think it made much difference in the final product. This was a great dinner salad for me, but would make a great lunch as well. Just make sure you try to stick to serving sizes with your dressing and cheese. Click here for the recipe and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

