12 Drummers Drumming

Today begins my twelve days of Christmas blogging challenge. I’m going to do my best to blog each day from today until Christmas Eve. Hopefully I’ll be offering a yummy recipe and a helpful healthy holiday tip (alliteration is so fun sometimes!) Well, here we go…

Healthy Holiday Tip #1– Eat more fish
Most of you know that fish is a great thing to add to your diet. It contains omega-3-fatty acids that our bodies don’t make. These fatty acids have been shown to improve cardiovascular health an decrease the risk of dying from a heart attack. It’s recommended that you incorporate fish into your diet one to two times per week. Tilapia and catfish are said to have the lowest levels of omega-3-fatty acids. According to the Mayo Clinic, the best types of fish to eat are salmon, herring, or tuna, which have high levels of omega-3 fatty acids. Remember the method you use to cook your fish is important too. Frying up a pile of catfish isn’t exactly maximizing the potential health benefits, try baking your fish instead. Since the holidays are usually full of fun parties and lots of food (usually of the unhealthy variety) it’s a good idea to maximize the healthy things you eat whenever you can. So, maybe try making fish a few times before Christmas. I’ll list a few links at the bottoms so you can find more info if you’re interested.

IMG_0568Foil Wrapped Veggies and Cod
My family and I kind of invented this recipe the last time I was home to visit. I insisted that we have a healthy meal for dinner, so I suggested fish. I’m not sure where the idea for wrapping it in foil came from, maybe Jonathan, he likes to cook and camp, which usually consists of wrapping something in foil. This was super easy though. I kind of based part of it off the Spanish Cod recipe I posted a couple months ago that calls for white wine. For this recipe, we placed the cod into foil added a little bit of olive oil, and enough white wine to come about half way up the sides of the fish. I’d use chardoney or pino grigio. I used Cavender’s Greek Seasoning and some ground red pepper, but you could really use any seasoning depending on what flavors you like. Just sprinkle enough to put a light coating on the fish. Then we pretty much just cut up and tossed in whatever vegetables we had lying around. For us, that consisted of onion, green pepper and red pepper. I also used parsley and garlic to give an extra boost of flavor. The same thing goes for the veggies though, you can add whatever you like. Then you just seal the foil and bake it in the oven at 350 for 25-30 minutes. Cod is done when it flakes easily with a fork, and I think that goes for most other fish too.

Some helpful links:
Mayo Clinic

CNN Health Article

JAMA Article

Leave a Reply

