Struggling

I mentioned a couple months ago that I felt like I was slipping back into the routine of letting myself cheat on my healthy diet. I worked on getting back on track, which was difficult with the different trips that I took throughout the summer. I felt like I did pretty well though. However, over the past couple of weeks, it’s been more difficult for me to stay on track. I’ve been having a few extra bites at dinner every now and then, eating out more than usual, and getting ice cream on the reg (it’s my weakness). It’s almost as if I can feel every slightly unhealthy choice that I’ve made over the past few weeks; I feel just a little heavier and lazier. I find myself wanting to cave on my gluttonous cravings, and sometimes I do.
It’s been quite a while since I first noticed the results of all my hard work, and it’s getting harder to remember what that felt like. Realizing that all my exercise and dieting paid off and being able to feel the healthy differences in my body was an awesome feeling, but, unfortunately, it’s a feeling that doesn’t last. Once you’ve achieved your goal, you have to keep working just as hard, if not harder to maintain what you’ve worked so hard for. While that feeling of achievement is a great thing, I’d rather not have to feel it again. That would mean I’d have to gain 15-20 pounds, realize that I needed to lose it, and start all over in the quest to regain my health. So, I think I’ll try to stick with what I’ve got. Even though I’ve been struggling to stay on track lately, I know that I don’t want to go back to the place I was last year and I’m hoping that will be enough motivation to keep me going. If not, I’ll just have to post motivational signs all over my house telling me to get it together and work out and stop eating ice cream. If you’re working on getting or staying healthy, just remember that you can do it. It’s not an easy task at times, but it can be made easier if you remind yourself of your goal. Here are some really great recipes for you to try!!

Grilled Scallop Salad
I know a lot of people don’t like scallops; I thought I didn’t for a while, but then I tried them and I think they’re great! If you’ve never had them, try them out, they have a light buttery flavor. Now, this recipe is meant for the grill, but I just wasn’t in the mood to set the grill up, so I pan sauteed the scallops and cucumber. I would not recommend sautéing the cucumber if you decide to skip the grill, it ends up having a bitter flavor. It might be good on the grill though. The only things I replaced in the recipe were the watermelon and mint. I used strawberries and basil instead because I already had them both at home. The dressing was really simple, just olive oil and lime juice. I absolutely loved this salad! There were so many different flavors that work so well together. The lime gives a nice tartness, the strawberries are sweet, and the avocados are just delicious. You must try this out!! Click here for the recipe.

Lemon Basil Chicken
If any of you actually make these recipes, you’re probably ready for my basil plant to die. I’ve started using it in almost everything I make, it’s just so yummy. Anyway, Michael, Caroline and I had this for dinner last week and it was really great. We ended up putting the chicken in the oven for about 20 minutes because it got a little too browned on the outside before it was quite done on the inside. I followed all the directions for this one and everything turned out really well. The sauce was good too, I forgot to put it on my plate before I took the picture though. The sauce would actually also make a really good vegetable dip. Click here for the recipe.

 

One thought on “Struggling

  1. If you totally eliminate sugar for a while, then you won’t crave it in the ice cream and it will seem too sweet when you do taste it. I have struggled with that issue my whole life and have not beat it yet. Maybe you can do it while you are still young! Good luck to you. When Tom doesn’t have time to eat, which is often, he drinks a Nutrament as a meal replacement and it keeps him going instead of eating out.
    Love to you, Karen

Leave a Reply

