Winging It

Since I finished with school on May 25, I’ve been out of town every weekend and I’ve been on a two week OB-GYN rotation. It’s been crazy so far. Being out of town on the weekends and getting up at 5:30 on the weekdays has left me pretty exhausted and hasn’t left much time for me to exercise or plan out a week of meals. I’ve been searching for furniture to add to my apartment and dog/house sitting this week. Despite the fact that it’s Father’s Day this weekend, I’m staying in Jackson to get things back together. Even though it’s been crazy, I’ve been enjoying it. I’ve been able to see several C-sections and I’ve learned a lot about how things work on the OB-GYN service in the hospital. I’ll be starting a two week rotation on radiation oncology next week, which will be something I’ve never experienced before so I’m excited to learn more about it. Since I didn’t really come up with a plan for my meals last week I kind of had to wing it. I ended up doing pretty well by just putting together what I had at home without having to go to the grocery store for any of my dinners. Here’s what I came up with.

Garlic Lemon Basil Chicken Pasta
The night I made this I had planned on doing some kind of baked chicken, but I was too tired to wait 30 minutes for it to bake. So, I ended up browning it in a skillet with some garlic and lemon juice then I decided to cook some pasta to go with it. I added feta cheese, cherry tomatoes, and fresh basil to the mix. It was really simple to toss together and I just kind of made it up as I was cooking the chicken. I  sautéed the garlic in the pan first then added the chicken and probably about 3 tablespoons of lemon juice. Once all the chicken and pasta were done, I just tossed in the rest and mixed it in a bowl.

Greek Cod
Once again I came home exhausted and wasn’t really in the mood to be too creative. I wanted to try something different than my usual fish that I make. Normally I just use olive oil with a little garlic herb and lemon pepper seasoning. This time I decided to use my greek salad dressing as a marinade and bake it. I ended up cooking on a higher temperature than normal so it got a little over done but the marinade tasted pretty good. The picture makes it look pretty sad because I just had carrots and and snap beans with it, but I wasn’t very hungry so I didn’t need much. I think I’ve put my greek salad dressing on a post before, so you should be able to find it if you want to try it.

Audrey’s Quiche
Since starting my healthy cooking last summer, I’ve really been wanting to try quiche, but I just haven’t gotten around to it. It doesn’t seem too complicated, but I am a little weary of ones that have a lot of cheese and cream. I want to make sure I make a healthy one that’s easy and I don’t want to end up with a lot of left overs so, I think I may try to make some mini ones sometime this weekend. My friend Audrey told me about a quiche that she made last week and I got her to send me a picture of it. She uses a gram cracker crust instead of a pie crust to give a little sweetness to the quiche. She used egg, spinach and feta and just mixed it all up. and baked it in the oven. I can’t wait to try to make one.

Leave a Reply

