The Weight of the Nation

This morning I was browsing recipes on Cooking Light and came across an ad for a documentary series called “The Weight of the Nation” by HBO. The series contains four episodes, two of which air tomorrow tonight, the other two air Tuesday night. It looks like it’s going to be a very interesting and informative documentary addressing the major health problems that our nation faces as a result of the overwhelming number of people that are overweight and obese. I wish that it was airing on a station that is more available to more people though. It does look like you will be able to view the episodes online after they air on tv. They also have the option of hosting a screening event for the series, which I have inquired about. Hopefully I’ll be able to do that in the near future for those in the Jackson area that are interested. As for me, I’ve pretty much been up to the same things lately, just studying, all the time. This week is my last week of class before our final round of exams, and I can’t believe it! Here are a couple of recipes that I tried this week.

Seabass with Romesco Sauce
This recipe called for halibut, but they didn’t have any fresh at the store so I decided to go out on a limb and try seabass. I’ve never had seabass before, but I’ve heard that it’s good.  I seasoned the fish with pepper and pan seared it until it seemed to flake easily. The seabass was firm, but light and I really enjoyed it. The romesco sauce is what I was really interested in trying though. I had never heard of a romesco sauce before, but it sounded pretty easy to make and it looked good in the picture so I decided to give it a try. It had some interesting ingredients that I would have never thought would make such a delicious sauce. It called for roasted red peppers and a roasted ancho pepper, both of which I roasted myself. I think I used a jalepeno though, they didn’t have anything labeled as ancho at the store so I just grabbed a pepper that looked spicy. Some of the other odd ingredients included roasted almonds and a slice of whole wheat bread, which I replaced with half of a whole wheat tortilla instead. There are a few other ingredients that you add and then use a food processor to blend them into a sauce. All of the ingredients balanced each other so well, there was a little spice and a little sweet. I think the sauce will go great on any fish and I might even try to use it as a pizza sauce sometime. Click here for this recipe.

Chipotle Shrimp Tacos
One thing I love to make is shrimp tacos. I found a recipe sometime last year and have loved making it when I need something I can toss together without much effort.  I see lots of different shrimp taco recipes online, but have yet to venture away from my favorite go-to. Well, this week I decided I’d give a different recipe a chance. I was slightly disappointed in the result though. I just didn’t find that this recipe had as much flavor as my other shrimp taco recipe. To be fair, I omitted the chipotle chili powder because I didn’t have any and I used frozen shrimp that were already cooked so I think the marination process probably didn’t reach it’s full potential. I also prefer my taco recipes to have fresh avocado, tomato, and cilantro. The recipe didn’t call for cilantro or tomato, but I did add my own cilantro. In my opinion, these shrimp tacos just didn’t have the flavor that I was looking for. Maybe if you use the chipotle chili powder and marinate them properly they’d be great. Click here for this recipe.

Oh, and…. Happy Mother’s Day Mom! Maybe you can talk dad or Jonathan into making my seabass recipe for dinner tonight!

Leave a Reply

