Colorful and Fresh

Spring is probably the best time of year to experiment with new foods. There are all kinds of things that come into season that you can get fresh at the grocery store, farmer’s market, or even grow yourself. I started my own little herb garden a couple weeks ago and it’s coming along quite nicely. I have a couple recipes to share that are full of colorful and fresh ingredients that make for a great spring time meal or snack.

Greek Style Quinoa
This is my third type of quinoa that I’ve made. The first time I tried it, I made quinoa tabuleh, you can find the recipe for it a few posts prior to this one. I’ve also tried quinoa just plain, as a side to a regular meal, in place of rice. This particular recipe is similar to the tabuleh recipe. I think I stuck pretty closely to the recipe on this one. It said to cook the quinoa in low sodium, fat-free chicken broth. Personally, I didn’t really taste a difference between using the broth and using water, so I would recommend just using water. The other ingredients included fresh mint leaves, cucumbers, yellow bell peppers, tomatoes, and non-fat feta cheese. I think it may also call for sherry vinegar, but I used red wine vinegar since that’s what I had at home and I use it in my greek salad dressing, I figured it was close enough. I think it turned out really well. Recipes like this one are easy to keep on hand for snacking during the week or as a side to a meal. I think it would go with almost anything, so you could also easily take it to a picnic or potluck. Click here for the recipe.

Chicken Caprese Wrap
This was a really simple recipe to throw together for dinner and would make a great lunch as well. It has fresh mozzarella, tomatoes, and basil. It calls for rotisserie chicken, but I just baked my own breasts and I made my own balsamic dressing with a little balsamic vinegar and olive oil. I also used a whole wheat wrap instead of flatbread. It tasted great and was filling as well. With this type of recipe, you could pretty much add any other type of vegetable you wanted to give it your own flavor. I don’t think I had anything to go along with it, but the greek style quinoa would probably go well or just some fruit. Click here for the recipe.

All in all, recipes like these two give you the freedom to add fresh veggies and herbs to make them more nutritious and delicious…haha, what a cliche. But, it’s true. If you experiment with all the fresh fruits and veggies that are out this time of year, you might find something new that you will love!

Leave a Reply

