Week Seven

This is post number seven. I can’t believe I’ve been blogging for seven weeks, it’s still new to me but I’ve enjoyed it thus far. Hopefully some of you people that have been reading it are enjoying it too, and maybe you’ve even tried some recipes. I hope so! Last week was another busy week and I didn’t do much in the way of cooking until the weekend. I must say that it’s been harder to keep up with this since my schedule has gotten busier, but, in a way, I think it’s a good thing. Committing to write a new post every week has held me accountable for staying healthy, even when I may not have time. I’ve had to make time, which is great because I can make myself take a break and do something I enjoy for an hour. Keeping a journal or writing down your nutritional information for the day would be a good way to keep yourself accountable too (if you’re not the blogging type). Try it out, and see if it helps you stay on track. Here are my weekly recipe attempts, both courtesy of Cooking Light.

Baked Salmon With Dill
Two things I like in one recipe title means I’m definitely giving it a try. I really enjoy eating dill, I think it’s such a fresh and flavorful herb, and it just adds the perfect kick to most foods. Try it with your scrambled eggs, its delicious! I guess it’s typically associated with summer flavors; it’s March though and that’s close enough for me, especially in Mississippi. Basically all this recipe calls for is salmon, dill, salt, pepper, and lemon juice. And I’m sure you can guess all you have to do is sprinkle them all on top of the fish and bake it. Yep, it’s as easy as that! I thought this dinner turned out great, the dill didn’t have as much flavor with the salmon as I thought it would, but it was definitely still there and I really liked it. I pan sauteed asparagus with a little olive oil and garlic for about 10 minutes to go along with it. I think any green vegetable goes great with salmon, green beans, broccoli, zucchini, etc. You can also always have a salad, which I added also. My portion size was a little too big, as you can see in the photo, and I couldn’t quite make a clean plate. That’s okay though! I think many people are used to not wanting to leave any food on their plate, which is great, unless you have too much food on your plate and then you end up overeating. So, keep that in mind, if you feel full, stop eating and save the rest for tomorrow’s lunch. Click here for the recipe.

Shrimp and Sausage Stew
This was a surprisingly good dinner. I was a little skeptical of using the Rotel canned tomatoes, but I think they give this stew/soup the perfect amount of spicy. I’m not particularly a fan of eating super spicy foods, so if you like your food spicy, I would suggest having some hot sauce on hand. I used the original Rotel tomatoes, so I guess you could just get a can with more spice in it too. I chose to serve this one over some brown rice, but had it last night as leftovers with no rice and liked it just the same. When having soup, stew, or any kind of gumbo, it’s important to realize they are usually more filling than they seem. That means you need to be careful what you pair it with, if anything. I had a salad as you can see, but I could have had nothing to go along with it and been just fine. If you have bread, be careful how many pieces you use to sop up the good stuff at the bottom of the bowl. Other than that, I think that’s everything I can think of to go along with that recipe. It was pretty easy and I stuck to the recipe. Click here for the recipe.

Something I’ve Learned
So, who would have thought that people actually need aprons in the kitchen? I never really thought they were necessary until I started cooking more. I have learned through several experiences that when you pan sautee any thing with any kind of oil or water or possibly nothing else in the pan, it makes a mess. Oil, water, and juices pop from the pan all over the place, including whatever shirt you have on. So, I invested in an apron. I like it so much I just thought I would share it with everyone. Perfect for the medical student in me, haha.

Leave a Reply

