Run, Run, as Fast as You Can

I’ve officially signed up for a 5K! I set a goal to complete a 5K last summer and I still haven’t gotten around to it. I finally decided that I’m going to do it (ready or not). I haven’t run the full distance yet, but I’m close and have just under  a month to go a few tenths of a mile more. I think it’s going to be a really fun 5K too! My medical school class is hosting it as a night run complete with glow sticks; part of the proceeds will go to The Jackson Free Clinic. If you’re in the Jackson area and want to sign up, click here for online registration. The date is August 25 and the race will start at 8:00 pm. In other news, I just returned from a three day trip to Kansas City, MO for the Family Medicine Student and Resident Conference. I had never been to Kansas City before, and it was a really fun city from what I got to see. I also ran two out of the three mornings I was there, which I was really proud of. I did, however, have gelato/ice cream three days in a row, hopefully they canceled each other out! I only have two weeks until school starts back, and I think I’m almost ready for it. I’m glad to have a couple more weeks off, but I’m starting to feel a little lazy because I don’t really have much going on. This week I just a have a few more easy summer recipes for you.

Wrap it Up
I mentioned the classic BLT sandwich a few weeks ago, but I decided to change it up just a tad in an attempt to make it a little healthier. I just used a wheat tortilla instead of bread and a little olive oil mayonnaise. I also added cucumber to give a little extra crunch. I came up with another wrap idea the other day when I was scrounging around my fridge trying to pull a quick lunch together. I mashed up an avocado, cut up a tomato, added lettuce, grated some mozzarella cheese on top and drizzled a little homemade balsamic vinaigrette on top. It was delicious, and really similar to a hummus wrap if you’ve ever had one of those. I had a mediterranean hummus wrap while I was on my trip that had hummus, kalamata olives, tomatoes, lettuce, and cucumbers in it. I’ve found that wraps are really easy to pull together and they usually taste good with whatever you have sitting in the fridge wrapped inside. Try it out sometime, it’s super easy.

Fresh Basil and Tomato Cous Cous
I’ve really started to enjoy experimenting with different grains. For the past few months I’ve used quinoa a lot, but I decided to try cous cous this time. Cous cous is similar to quinoa, but I think it’s a little softer, if that makes sense. My sister said she likes the cous cous better, but I think they’re both good. This recipe calls for one of my favorites, fresh basil, and pairs it up with mozzarella cheese and tomatoes. Like the quinoa tabbuleh that I make pretty frequently, this is a good salad to keep in the fridge and have it as a snack or as a side with lunch or dinner. It’s easy to make and easy to store, and I think would make a good potluck item. Click here for the recipe.

Bacon, Shrimp, and Arugula Salad
As you all know I love salad, and I especially love experimenting with different salad ingredients. This was a pretty simple one with a homemade balsamic vinaigrette. The recipe calls for arugula, which I’m not a huge fan of, so I just used regular spring mix. The other ingredients were just bacon (I used lean turkey bacon), shrimp, and cherry tomatoes. The dressing is made with yogurt, balsamic vinaigrette, and olive oil. I was pretty nervous about having the yogurt in the dressing, but I ended up really liking it. It was really similar to one of my favorite restaurant’s balsamic dressing, so I’ll probably make it again. I think having the shrimp made it perfect for a light dinner or a bigger lunch, it certainly filled me up. If you’re not much of a salad fan, start giving some a try, you might be surprised at how some ingredients complement each other so well. Click here to try this one.

Cookie Dough Bites- Take Two
Last week I mentioned the vegan cookie dough bites that I made at the beach. Well, I didn’t have all of the ingredients since I was out of town so I just had to make them again and with all of the right ingredients. THEY WERE SOOOOOOO GOOD!!! I also actually used my brain this time and rolled them up into little bite size balls instead of leaving them in disorganized blobs. This recipe will definitely become a staple dessert at my house. I think it gives just the right amount of sweetness to curb my dessert craving and they don’t seem to be unhealthy and packed with a ton of sugar.  The blog that I got the recipe from, Averie Cooks, has lots of variations of this recipe so you can make your favorite kind of cookie dough bite.  So glad that I found this!!

2 thoughts on “Run, Run, as Fast as You Can

Leave a Reply

